Uncategorized

Writing 101. 3 important songs.

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you? Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.

Driving in my car. Daughter, 9 in passenger seat. Son, 6 years old in back seat. Daughter has Tim Mcgraw cd playing. The song, Don’t take the girl is playing. When the song ends my daughter notices that her brother is crying. We ask him what is wrong and he says that song is just so sad. I realize that this boy is going to love someone with his whole heart and soul.

A church full of mourners. So sad at the loss of their mom, grandmother. Several people go up to talk about all the good things about my grandma. Such a lovely service. Then my daughter goes up, she looks at her grandpa, my dad and gets emotional. She is about to sing a song that is sure to bring more tears. The song, Because you loved me by Celine Dion. At the first note tears fill my daughters eyes, but she sings so beautifully. The room is full of emotion as the song touches each person in a different way because grandma loved everyone in a different way. She sounded so beautiful, so much emotion but never losing her voice. She sang because she loved her grandpa. She sang a beautiful song at just the right time.

Breath of Heaven, by Amy Grant. Every time I listen to that song I love our Blessed Mother even more. The song reminds me of saying yes to God even when we are very scared. Trusting God when we know that what we are about to endure is going to be painful. Trusting in His plan. Wondering all the time if I am good enough, or why me. Begging to be held together when I am surely going to fall apart, trusting that I will be held together by the One who created me. When I listen to this song, I think of how Mary gave her life over to God. She withheld nothing. I yearn to do the same. This song reminds me that Mary emptied herself so she could be close to God. Her life was difficult, but she knew God loved her. She said yes even though she knew that her life would be difficult. I want to learn from Mary, learn to say yes to God and trust in His plan. Empty myself of myself and be filled with God.

These are the three songs that came to mind after much thought. I love music so this was so difficult. Music is a great way to communicate the way we feel. My best prayer time is done listening to christian music. It just brings out so much emotion and thought.

Leave a Reply

