Catholic · Faith

Strep and being our Own Advocate

Advocate

Noun:              1. a person who speaks or writes in support or defense of a person, cause, etc.

2. a person who pleads for or in behalf of another; intercessor.

                       3. a person who pleads the cause of another in a court of law.
My daughter, Ashlee came home from work sick on Monday, she wasn’t feverish but she had a small rash on the high part of her cheek. I could tell she wasn’t feeling well but we took Lainey for her walk that she was promised. Ashlee had complained that her throat was very sore so we stopped at a local store to pick her up some medicine. As we stood there looking at the different medicine choices she asks is it cold in here?  I am freezing!  I looked at her and noticed the rash had spread down her cheek and neck. As her mother, I don’t care how old they are, we moms immediately feel the head to see if they are running a fever and yes she was really warm. Ashlee works at a daycare so she worries about spreading any illness to them so she started researching and she discovered she had many symptoms of strep throat. So on Tuesday morning we made her appointment first thing in the morning, telling them that she would like to be tested for strep, mainly so she knew because she worked at a daycare. When the nurse come in to talk to Ashlee she asked if med students could visit her. Ashlee of course said yes. Long story short, she found herself having to almost argue to have the strep test done. Neither med student or the doctor weren’t listening to her symptoms and wanted to treat her for sinus only. The only time they mentioned strep test is when she would mention the rash. But somehow by the time they went back to visit with doctor they would forget the rash. In the end Ashlee told the doctor, I want the test, I know you think I probably don’t have strep and I probably don’t but lets rule it out. She finally got the test done…….guess what she tested positive!
So, why am I tell you this today? Because I want to remind you to be your own advocate. All of the people talking with Ashlee were well-educated but they were missing what she was telling them. She had to speak up and tell them what she needed. She is learning that she will need to be an advocate for herself and later on she will need to do the same for her children.
The same should happen with our faith. We need to take the time to learn on our own. We are responsible for our relationship with our Lord. It is important to educate ourselves about the Church. Why does the Church have some of the teachings she does? Go ahead and question things, but take the time to pray about it and research it. I am in no way an expert I am just learning as I go.  But I can tell you that there have been times in my life that I wasn’t in agreement with the Church’s teaching on different things. It took lots of prayer, trust and researching and listening to others to come to accept her teachings. So if someone is telling you something that you aren’t sure about, go ahead and question it and be your own advocate and find answers. Our Lord wants to give us the answers we are looking for.
Here are some ways that I turn to learn more about my faith…..
  • Bible
  • Prayer
  • Participating in the Mass and Eucharist at least weekly
  • Catechism of the Catholic Church
  • podcast ( The Catholics Next Door, real life radio, etc)
  • Priests
  • blogs

What are some of the things that you do to grow in your faith? Please share them in the comments before. I should add, I learn best from fellow bloggers!!

See you tomorrow for Holy Thursday!

God Bless.

One thought on “Strep and being our Own Advocate

  1. That is so true, everyone must be their own advocate and trust their own instincts!! I suffer from a tragedy that my instincts and my lack of ability to stand up for what I felt was right at the time and it has taught me a great lesson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

