garden

Garden, weather, flowers, patience or lack thereof,

The weather has been teasing me for the past month! Temperatures fluctuating between 20’s and 70’s, I am thrown into the confusion of the multi-personality disorder of the weather. Don’t get me wrong, I am forever thankful that we don’t have much snow left on the ground but my poor bones can take the chill much longer. I check weather.com on a regular basis hoping for warmer temps. Next week brings us……..

weather


So I am having pretty flowers dancing all over in my head, seriously lots of beautiful colors like these beauties from our flower garden last year.

10471194_10203681736497690_2704610405987148391_n(1)Sorry about the quality I am not a photographer, but one day hope to take the time to learn.


Gelatians 6:22 In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness,

I am reminded that we should be patient in all things. Warmer weather will come when God feels the time is right, when it is His timing, not mine. Patient is not how you could describe mflower garden cleaned up 2014e.  Nope, I would say that due to my controlling personality patient is something I will strive to attain and only with the help of our Lord will I conquer it.

Last year we moved into our house and I knew that the flower garden was going to be wonderful. But first it was going to be hard work. I wish I had taken a before picture.  It was full of leaves and debris from the past year or two. So my husband and I worked to clean it all out and this was the end result of that work. I had no idea at all what was going to grow from that garden. Someone who lived in this house had planted several different flowers. I couldn’t wait to watch and see what would pop up and bloom. I watched every day. Every morning I would look out the big window in the front there and see if I had something new.


Eventually, I was able to capture a few beautiful flowers.

flowers for the table       flowersyellow flowers

 It was pure joy to pick flowers from the flower bed and place on my kitchen table.


Last summer was the first time I actually spent time consistently in my yard. I am not really sure why but I just really took it all in. The work it took to get it ready, to tend to the flowers and different plants.

start of tomato garden  don and sean garden   after weeks of growth

Tomato Plants                         Don and Sean weeding         Luscious green grass/plants


tomatoes 2014      new tomatoes        tomato pasta sauce

Fruits of our labor             Pretty tomatoes                     Tomato pasta sauce


So as I look outside at the yard and all the work that will need to be done, I am reminded of what hard work produces and I can’t wait to get started. But I must be patient.  Wait for the temps to rise and the grass to green up. Because if I start to early, there is a chance that we will get a freeze and lose anything we may have planted.

Like waiting for the right time to plant and work in the yard, I need to patiently wait for the right time for many of my prayers to be answered. I trust in the Lord and know that He hears me and knows what we need and when we need it. I am working hard to do things according to His will and not my own. This is no easy task. Remember, I said I was controlling, I want to be able to make things happen when I think its time. But I will pray each day that I can get out of God’s way and keep trusting.

So I leave you dear ones with this bible verse,

James 5:7-8 Be patient, therefore, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient with it until it receives the early and the late rains. 8 You too must be patient. Make your hearts firm, because the coming of the Lord is at hand.

3 thoughts on “Garden, weather, flowers, patience or lack thereof,

Leave a Reply

