Holiness

A Call to Holiness

A Sunday Morning with Catechism of the Catholic Church and coffee.
A Sunday Morning with Catechism of the Catholic Church and coffee.

If we are Christians, we are called to holiness. The Catechism of the Catholic Church states:

“All Christians in any state of walk of life are called to the fullness of Christian life and to the perfection of charity.” All are called to holiness: “Be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” CCC 2013

The definition of holiness is “the state or quality of being holy; sanctify.” Saint John Paul II says in his letter, NOVO MILLENIO INEUNTEhis master plan for the new millennium, holiness is not only a state but a task, whereby Christians should strive for a full christian life, imitating Christ.

Today is the fourth Sunday in Lent and even though I struggle with sticking to those things I chose to give up or work on during this Lenten season one thing that keeps resonating with me is my desire to be holy. To become a saint. I have always known I want to get to heaven. But it wasn’t until recently that I realize that I want to live as holy of a life as I can and not just want to, but do it. I want to step out in the world and become the best version of myself that God has called me to be…..a saint.  We are so blessed to have saints who tell us that we can do this. I want to spend this year learning more about saints and use that knowledge in my walk with Jesus and my fellow saints in the making.

For the past couple of years, now having adult children, I have been a little lost. I know that my vocation is my marriage and this is part of my journey to holiness. But I often found myself wondering….now what? I am still a mom and a wife but Ashlee and Sean are adults and my days aren’t filled with a home-school classroom striving to get through the day lessons and chores and all my attention was focused on my responsibilities as a mother and wife. My days are filled with an empty home and lots of time on my hands while husband and kids are working. But God has not forgotten me, He knows my needs and desires. Jer 1:5 Before I formed you in the womb I knew you….. 

1 Peter 115-16 but, as he who called you is holy, be holy yourselves in every aspect of your conduct. for it is written, “Be holy because I (am) holy. So He has been busy putting on my heart the desire to become holy. To become a saint. I know this has always been God’s desire for me. It is His desire for all Christians. So, as I am tempted to get scared and say its impossible, I know that we are all called to be holy. We are not alone. Pope Francis stated on October 2, 2013  “Do not be afraid of holiness, do not be afraid to aim high, to be loved and purified by God, do not be afraid to let yourself be guided by the Holy Spirit.”  You can read more about what Pope Francis says about holiness here.

I hope you will join me on my journey to sainthood. I am not a scholar, or a theologian. I am a simple Catholic wife and mom who desires to be holy. The main theme of this blog is to write about being Catholic and thriving for closeness with our Lord. But in the midst of that I want to introduce you to my family and myself and walk this together so you will find sprinkled here and there, some randomness about the family God has blessed me with.

Are you on a journey to sainthood? Please tell us about it! I would love to hear from you.

Who is your favorite Saint?

2 thoughts on “A Call to Holiness

Leave a Reply

